Oooh Scary…

April 10, 2009 at 3:48 pm (movies, Pop Culture)

As a person who doesn’t find scary movies particular scary I sometimes get a kick out of watching them just for the cheesiness factor.  But I hate the new trend in horror movies that pretty much prohibits them from having a happy ending.  I mean, what is that about?  Hello, evil always wins?  You’re harshing my mellow Hollywood producer people.  But there are a few movies that hang on in my psyche.   Doesn’t mean they’re good, just that I remember them.   If they’re rated R don’t watch them unless you are seventeen or over or accompanied by a paying adult, K. 😉

Arachnophobia–I remember watching this movie with my best friend when I was in middle school or very early high school.  We went to the theater to watch it.  I am afraid of spiders but this movie didn’t scare me.  The ick factor, however, was extremely high.

Dawn of the Dead–While not as good as Shawn of the Dead, this movie has its moments.  I especially like that the survivors take refuge in a shopping mall.  There has to be a joke in there somewhere…

The Fly–Just thinking about this movie makes me throw up a little in my mouth.  If your gross tolerance level isn’t high just give this one a pass.

Mothman Prophecies–On record, except for Silver Bullet when I was eight, Mothman Prophecies is the only horror movie to ever actually scare me.  I mean, like, I was a married woman with a child at the time and I kept thinking I was seeing little Mothmen out my window.  And it isn’t the mothmen that are scary in this movie.  I’m just saying.

Silver Bullet–Speaking of which, when you’re eight, maybe older I don’t know, this movie is petrifying.  When he sees the priest with the eye patch.  Wow.

The Changling–Scary, eh.  It can be sometimes.  But I remember this movie for the house it is filmed in.  Let me have the house, please.  I’m begging you.  You can’t get a house that gorgeous in New Mexico.  Everything here is made out of pink stucco.

Evil Dead–This movie is less scary than, say, hilarious.  And Bruce Campbell is art.

The Ring–There are no words to describe how dumb I thought this movie was.  But that isn’t the point of this blog.  Just that it stayed with me all this time.  And that has to count for something right?

The Haunting–If you’re going to go watch this movie please get the original black and white 1963 which is truly frightening.  As opposed to the 1999 version which is just absurd.

So if you like things a little tense here’s something to do with your Saturday night (assuming, of course, you’ve got nothing better to do or someone worth cuddling with when you just can’t stand to look.)

Amber

Leave a Reply

